Dirigeants d'Appian

Matt Calkins Fondateur et directeur général

Matt Calkins Fondateur et directeur général

Matt Calkins est le fondateur et PDG d'Appian. Grâce à lui, Appian est passée du statut de petite start-up à celui d'éditeur de logiciels dont l'introduction en bourse est la plus réussie de 2017 avec seulement 10 millions de dollars de capitaux extérieurs. Matt siège au conseil d'administration du Northern Virginia Technology Council et de l'Institut Sorensen, ainsi qu'au comité de direction du Virginia Public Access Project. Major de sa promotion en économie à l'université de Dartmouth, Matt a également créé plusieurs jeux de société récompensés et s'illustre fréquemment comme finaliste aux championnats du monde des jeux de société.

Matt Calkins – Fondateur et directeur général d'Appian

Robert C. Kramer Directeur général

Robert C. Kramer Directeur général

Bob Kramer est responsable de la coordination des opérations de gestion et techniques de l'entreprise. Il est diplômé de la Wharton School de l'université de Pennsylvanie. C'est un des fondateurs d'Appian, et il est membre du conseil d'administration d'Appian.

Mark Lynch Chief Financial Officer

Mark Lynch Chief Financial Officer

Mark Lynch est responsable de la supervision de toutes les activités financières d'Appian, qu'il a rejoint en 2008. Avant cela, Mark a été directeur financier chez MicroStrategy, et occupait auparavant le même poste chez World Airways. En outre, il a été vice-président aux finances chez Intellidata. Mark est titulaire d'une licence en comptabilité de l'Université d'État de Pennsylvanie et d'un MBA de l'Université George Washington. Mark a été nommé directeur financier de l'année 2010 par le Washington Business Journal et désigné directeur financier de l'année 2018 pour une société cotée en bourse par le Northern Virginia Technology Council.

Chris Winters Directeur juridique

Chris Winters Directeur juridique

Chris a rejoint Appian en 2015. Il dirige les aspects juridiques, contractuels et règlementaires de la société. Avant de travailler pour Appian, Chris a été directeur juridique pour Applied Predictive Technologies de 2013 à 2015. Avant 2013, il a été directeur général adjoint chez CoStar Group et associé chez Arnold & Porter. Chris est titulaire d'une licence en histoire obtenue à l'université de Northern Illinois et d'un doctorat de l'Harvard Law School. En 2016, Chris a figuré au classement « Trending 40 Corporate Counsel ».

Michael Beckley Fondateur et directeur technique

Michael Beckley Fondateur et directeur technique

Michael Beckley est l'un des fondateurs et le directeur technique d'Appian. Il oriente la vision technique de l'entreprise, dirige les équipes de marketing des produits et des solutions Appian et supervise les initiatives clients dans le monde entier. Diplômé du Dartmouth College, Michael fait partie du conseil consultatif industriel du département informatique de l'Université de Virginie.

Marc Wilson Fondateur et vice-président directeur, Partenariats et Industries mondiales

Marc Wilson Fondateur et vice-président directeur, Partenariats et Industries mondiales

Marc Wilson est l'un des fondateurs d'Appian. Il est responsable des partenariats stratégiques de l'entreprise dans le monde entier. Il supervise également l'équipe Leadership secteur d'Appian, qui se compose de nombreux experts issus de différents secteurs d'activité stratégiques. Marc s'exprime régulièrement sur différents sujets, notamment l'IA, la RPA, le Low-Code, le BPM et les plates-formes applicatives. Au cours de ses 20 années de travail chez Appian, il a pu collaborer avec plusieurs centaines de clients sur leurs approches en matière de transformation numérique et d'automatisation. Marc a obtenu sa licence en administration publique (relations internationales) avec mention au Darmouth College.

Lang Ly Responsable du personnel

Lang Ly Responsable du personnel

Lang Ly est responsable du personnel. En coordination avec le directeur général et les autres membres de la direction, elle conçoit, communique, exécute et entretient différentes initiatives stratégiques. Avec ses 20 ans d’expérience de direction dans le domaine des logiciels d’entreprise, de la technologie, des services professionnels, de l’informatique et de l’immobilier, elle se spécialise dans l’unification des personnes, des processus et des technologies pour mieux transformer l’entreprise. Elle est titulaire d’une licence en génie électrique et d’un M.B. en systèmes informatiques, elle fait de l’escalade et de la photographie et elle a visité les sept continents.

Myles Weber Directeur des systèmes d'information

Myles Weber Directeur des systèmes d'information

Myles Weber est responsable de l'offre Platform as a Service du Cloud d'Appian. En outre, Myles dirige les opérations de technologie de l'information, d'assistance, de sécurité et de conformité. Myles est l'un des premiers employés à avoir rejoint Appian avec une expérience en BI et en technologies web dans le secteur des services financiers. Myles est titulaire d'une licence en sciences de l'information et de décision délivrée par l'Université de l'Illinois, à Chicago.

Eric Cross Chief Revenue Officer

Eric Cross Chief Revenue Officer

Eric a plus de 20 ans d'expérience à son actif dans la direction d'organisations à forte croissance et le développement proportionnel de leurs activités commerciales. Il dispose d'un parcours diversifié – auprès d'organisations de moins de 25 millions de dollars à 1,5 milliard de dollars – dans des modèles de revenus directs et indirects couvrant un ensemble varié de catégories technologiques établies et émergentes. Récemment, il était membre de l'équipe de direction à la tête d'Apigee : il a connu ses débuts intermédiaires, son introduction en bourse réussie et son acquisition par Google. Auparavant, il a occupé divers postes de direction chez Blue Coat Systems, Citrix Systems et PeopleSoft, entre autres. Eric est diplômé de l'université de Géorgie.

Suvajit Gupta Vice-président directeur, Ingénierie

Suvajit Gupta Vice-président directeur, Ingénierie

Suvajit Gupta supervise la gestion de produits, le développement et l'assurance qualité du produit Appian. Suvajit a plus de 30 ans d'expérience en développement de logiciels et a été vice-président au développement chez Eloqua – un fournisseur de SaaS racheté depuis par Oracle. Il a obtenu son master en Génie informatique et systèmes au Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute et a suivi des études en Génie électronique et communication à l'IIT de Kharagpur, en Inde.

Pavel Zamudio-Ramirez Vice-président directeur, Customer Success

Pavel Zamudio-Ramirez Vice-président directeur, Customer Success

Pavel dirige l'organisation du Customer Success d'Appian. Son rôle et celui de son équipe est de garantir que nos clients tirent le meilleur parti de notre plate-forme, au-delà même de leurs attentes initiales. Pavel a plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans les services professionnels chez Salesforce et Monitor Group, où il s'est concentré sur l'innovation, la transformation et les initiatives de satisfaction client. Major de sa promotion et lauréat de la médaille Gabino Barreda pour ses études en Génie chimique à l'Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, il est également titulaire de deux masters du MIT en Ingénierie et Gestion.

Dawn Mitchell Vice-présidente des ressources humaines

Dawn Mitchell Vice-présidente des ressources humaines

Dawn Mitchell supervise le service des ressources humaines qui est un partenaire stratégique de l’entreprise pour acquérir, développer et retenir les talents tout en améliorant la culture Appian et sa renommée en matière de talents. Avant de travailler pour Appian, Dawn a exercé des fonctions de direction chez Red Hat et Opower. Dawn est titulaire d’un Bachelor of  Business Management de l’Université d’État de Caroline du Nord. En 2018, elle a été distinguée comme faisant partie des meilleurs directeurs RH de la région métropolitaine de Washington par DCA Live.

Dawn Mitchell

David Metzger Vice-président Talent Management

David Metzger Vice-président Talent Management

David Metzger est responsable de l'amélioration de l'efficacité opérationnelle, du perfectionnement des employés et du leadership, la gestion des ressources humaines, l'évaluation des employés et le développement des compétences. Avant de travailler chez Appian, David était Directeur du développement du leadership chez Canon USA où il a développé l'université d'entreprise et les processus de gestion des talents. David jouit d'une expérience de plus de 20 ans dans le domaine de la gestion des talents. David a obtenu son MBA à la Katz Graduate School of Business, à l'Université de Pittsburgh.

Paul Maguire Senior Vice-President EMEA et Asie-Pacifique

Paul Maguire Senior Vice-President EMEA et Asie-Pacifique

Paul dirige les opérations d’Appian pour les régions EMEA et Asie-Pacifique. Sa grande expérience a permis aux entreprises de logiciels de devenir des leaders sur le marché. Avant de travailler pour Appian, Paul a passé les 20 dernières années à des postes de direction chez Genesys, Pegasystems (chez qui il a contribué à une impressionnante croissance multipliée par 6 en 8 ans) et Staffware (aujourd’hui appelé Tibco). Paul s’engage à aider les entreprises de la zone EMEA et Asie-Pacifique à profiter au mieux de leurs investissements dans Appian.

Conseil d'administration

directeur
directeur
directeur
directeur
directeur
directeur
directeur

Mike Devine Directeur

Mike préside le comité d'audit de notre conseil d'administration. Il a été Associé d'Audit chez Arthur Andersen and Deloitte. Mike a dirigé les initiatives de collaboration d'Andersen avec des entreprises spécialisées dans la technologie dans la région de Washington, D.C. Il a aidé de nombreuses sociétés de logiciels et entreprises de télécommunication de leurs débuts à leur entrée en bourse, et au-delà. Après s'être retiré du secteur de la comptabilité publique, Mike a été directeur financier de Secure Software de 2004 à 2007. Depuis lors, Mike a aidé des entreprises spécialisées dans la technologie à améliorer leurs fonctions financières et comptables. Mike a siégé au conseil d'administration et au comité d'audit de Martek Biosciences à partir de 2008 et jusqu'à son acquisition par DSM en 2011.

Bobbie Kilberg President and CEO of the Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC)

Bobbie Kilberg est Présidente et Directrice Générale du Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), un des plus importants comités technologiques des États-Unis. Elle apporte sa grande expérience, après avoir occupé des postes importants pour quatre anciens présidents des États-Unis. Dans le secteur privé, elle a évolué dans des postes à responsabilité au sein d'Arnold & Porter, du Mount Vernon College et de l'Aspen Institute. Lauréate de nombreux prix et récompenses, Mme Kilberg a été intronisée au Washington Business Hall of fame en 2013, et elle a figuré dans la liste des personnes les plus influentes de Virginie en 2016 par le magazine Virginia Business. Elle a également été nominée par le magazine Washingtonian pour son classement « 100 Tech Titans of Washington » et par le Washington Business Journal pour son classement Power 100 en 2015. Elle est la fière détentrice de diplômes de la Yale Law School, de l'université Colombia et du Vassar College. En 2013, elle a reçu un diplôme honorifique en lettres humaines accordé par le Northern Virginia Community College.  Grande habituée des conseils d'administration, Mme Kilberg siège actuellement aux comités de direction de l'United Bank – Virginie, de RG Group, Inc. de l'American Action Forum et de la NVTC Foundation.

Matt Calkins Fondateur et directeur général

Matt Calkins est le fondateur et PDG d'Appian. Grâce à lui, Appian est passée du statut de petite start-up à celui d'éditeur de logiciels dont l'introduction en bourse est la plus réussie de 2017 avec seulement 10 millions de dollars de capitaux extérieurs. Matt siège au conseil d'administration du Northern Virginia Technology Council et de l'Institut Sorensen, ainsi qu'au comité de direction du Virginia Public Access Project. Major de sa promotion en économie à l'université de Dartmouth, Matt a également créé plusieurs jeux de société récompensés et s'illustre fréquemment comme finaliste aux championnats du monde des jeux de société.

Jack Biddle Directeur

Avant de cofonder NBVP en 1996, Jack était Président et CEO d'InterCap, une société de logiciels graphiques pour ordinateur financée par capital risque. InterCAP s'est classée 18e de la liste des « Fast 50 », les sociétés de la côte Est des États-Unis à la croissance la plus rapide, et a été rachetée par Intergraph en 1995. De 1987 à 1990, Jack est passé d'associé principal à partenaire chez Vanguard Atlantic, Ltd., un groupe de banque d'affaires axé sur le conseil en fusions-acquisitions et la gestion des investissements dans les sociétés logicielles. Chez VAL, il a été CEO de transition d'une société de logiciels systèmes, puis COO d'une société de logiciels applicatifs. Plus tôt dans sa carrière, il a été généraliste dans l'industrie informatique, axé sur les technologies de télécommunications au sein du groupe Gartner où il était également assistant de direction auprès du CEO, Gideon Gartner. Il a débuté sa carrière en 1983 à Austin, au Texas, chez Business Development Partners, un partenariat de capital risque encore au stade précoce. Jack est titulaire d'une licence en économie de l'Université de Virginie. Jack fait actuellement partie des conseils d'administration de WealthEngine, Vision Chain (Président), CorasWorks (Président), Triumfant, eMinor / ReverbNation, Starfish Retention Solutions, Shoeboxed, FiberZone Networks, Princeton Optronics et Appian Corporation.

PV Boccasam Directeur

Fort de son expérience, Prashanth (« PV ») a été entrepreneur, précurseur de l’investissement en capital risque et conseiller pour les entreprises moyennes financées par des capitaux privés au cours de ces vingt dernières années. Il est actuellement l’un des membres indépendants du conseil d’administration d’Appian Corporation (NASDAQ : APPN), mais aussi le directeur général de WealthEngine.

PV a commencé sa carrière chez Microsoft dans les années 1990. En 1997, il devient le cofondateur d’Entevo, une entreprise rachetée par BindView/Symantec en 2001. Il fonde ensuite Approva en 2002 ; la société est vendue à Infor/Lawson en 2011. PV est également le cofondateur de l’entreprise ClearStandards (2007), rachetée en 2009 par SAP. Depuis 2009, PV est l’un des associés commandités de Novak Biddle Venture Partners, une entreprise novatrice en matière de fonds d’investissement technologique pesant 600 millions de dollars. PV a aussi brillé dans son rôle de mentor pour d’autres entrepreneurs. Il a d’ailleurs investi dans plus de vingt startups naissantes ou en cours de développement. PV est président et copropriétaire de CommuniKids depuis 2003. Il est également membre du conseil de surveillance de l’University of Maryland’s Computer, Mathematics, and Natural Science (CMNS, département d’informatique, de mathématiques et de sciences naturelles de l’université du Maryland) et travaille également avec le Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship. PV est le fondateur de Pratham (D.C. Chapter), la plus grande ONG indienne dédiée à l’éducation.

Robert C. Kramer Directeur général

Bob Kramer est responsable de la coordination des opérations de gestion et techniques de l'entreprise. Il est diplômé de la Wharton School de l'université de Pennsylvanie. C'est un des fondateurs d'Appian, et il est membre du conseil d'administration d'Appian.

Michael J. Mulligan Directeur

Michael J. Mulligan apporte plus de 20 ans d'expérience de direction au conseil d'administration d'Appian. Actuellement Président de la Sea Level Investment Corporation, il a été Président et CEO de MapQuest, le leader mondial dans le secteur des cartes et des indications routières (qui est maintenant une filiale d'AOL Time Warner). Chez MapQuest, Mulligan a conçu et mis en œuvre la stratégie qui a permis à l'entreprise d'arriver à la tête de son marché, avec une valeur en bourse de plus de 750 millions de dollars. Il a réussi à guider l'entreprise lors de son introduction en bourse ainsi qu'au cours de sa vente et de son intégration à AOL. Avant MapQuest, Mulligan était cadre chez American Express, d'abord dans le groupe Relationship Services où il supervisait le développement de nouveaux revenus et de bénéfices considérables par le biais d'associations d'entreprises, d'acquisitions et du développement d'activités, puis dans le groupe des Services liés à la mobilité où il a élaboré et mis en œuvre la stratégie de Mobilité interactive de l'entreprise. Mulligan a également occupé des postes de cadre et de dirigeant chez Berlitz International, Trans National Group Services et Bain and Company.

Appian Leadership

Matt Calkins Founder and CEO

Matt Calkins Founder and CEO

Matt founded Appian at age 26.  He won Dartmouth’s award for top economics graduate, class of ’94.  He is active in Virginia government and serves on the board of three prominent institutions: the Virginia Public Access Project (VPAP), the Sorensen Institute, and the Northern Virginia Technology Council PAC.  He is the author of three boardgames and winner of several game design awards.  Matt is frequently a top finisher at the World Boardgaming Championships.

Robert C. Kramer General Manager

Robert C. Kramer General Manager

Bob Kramer is responsible for coordinating business and technical operations across the company. Bob is a graduate of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. He is a founder of Appian and a member of Appian’s board of directors.

Mark Lynch Chief Financial Officer

Mark Lynch Chief Financial Officer

Mark Lynch joined Appian in October 2008 and is responsible for overseeing all Appian financial activity. Prior to Appian, Mark served as CFO at MicroStrategy, and prior to that as CFO at World Airways. In addition, he was Vice President of Finance at Intellidata. Mark holds a B.S. degree in Accounting from The Pennsylvania State University and an MBA from The George Washington University. In 2010, Mark was named as CFO of the Year by the Washington Business Journal.

Chris Winters General Counsel

Chris Winters General Counsel

Chris joined Appian in 2015 and leads the company's legal, contracting, and compliance functions. Prior to joining Appian, Chris was General Counsel at Applied Predictive Technologies from 2013 until 2015. Prior to 2013, he served as Deputy General Counsel at CoStar Group and as an Associate at Arnold & Porter. Chris holds a B.A. in History from Northern Illinois University and a J.D. from Harvard Law School. In 2016, Chris was named a Trending 40 Corporate Counsel.

Michael Beckley Chief Technology Officer
Chief Customer Officer

Michael Beckley Chief Technology Officer
Chief Customer Officer

Michael Beckley leads Appian’s technology vision and oversees customer initiatives worldwide in his role as Chief Technology Officer and Chief Customer Officer. Michael serves on the Industrial Advisory Board for the University of Virginia’s Computer Science Department. He is a graduate of Dartmouth College and a founder of Appian.

Marc Wilson Founder and Senior Vice President, Global Partnerships & Industries

Marc Wilson Founder and Senior Vice President, Global Partnerships & Industries

Marc Wilson is a founder of Appian and is responsible for the company's Strategic Partnerships around the world. He also oversees Appian's Industry Leadership team comprised of numerous subject matter experts from a variety of key industries. Marc routinely speaks on topics such as AI, RPA, Low Code, BPM, Enterprise Application Platforms, etc. Over his 20 years with Appian, he has worked with hundreds of clients on their approach to digital transformation and automation. Marc received his B.A. in Government (International Relations) with Honors from Dartmouth College.

Lang Ly Chief of Staff

Lang Ly Chief of Staff

Lang Ly is Chief of Staff. In coordination with the CEO and other executives, she develops, communicates, executes, and sustains strategic initiatives. With 20 years of leadership experience in enterprise software, technology services, professional services, information technology, and real estate, she is adept at combining people, process, and technology to positively drive global corporate change. She has a B.S. in Electrical Engineering and an M.B. in Information Systems, is a rock climber and photographer, and has visited all seven continents.

Myles Weber Chief Information Officer

Myles Weber Chief Information Officer

Myles Weber is responsible for the Appian Cloud Platform as a Service offering. Additionally, Myles leads the worldwide Information Technology, Support, Security and Compliance operations. Myles joined Appian as one of its first employees with a background in business intelligence and web technologies in the financial services industry. Myles holds a BS degree in Information and Decision Sciences from University of Illinois at Chicago.

Eric Cross Chief Revenue Officer

Eric Cross Chief Revenue Officer

Eric has 20+ years experience leading and scaling high growth go to market organizations. He brings a diverse background with organizations sub $25M to $1.5B in direct and indirect revenue models spanning a diverse set of established and emerging technology categories. Recently, he was a member of the senior leadership team leading Apigee from mid stage start up through successful IPO and eventual acquisition by Google. Prior, he served in various senior leadership roles with Blue Coat Systems, Citrix Systems, and PeopleSoft amongst others. Eric is a graduate of the University of Georgia.

Suvajit Gupta Executive Vice President, Engineering

Suvajit Gupta Executive Vice President, Engineering

Suvajit Gupta oversees product management, development, and quality assurance of the Appian product. Suvajit has more than three decades of software development experience, and was Vice President of Development at Eloqua – a marketing SaaS provider that was acquired by Oracle. He received his master’s degree in Computer and Systems Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and an undergraduate in Electronics and Communications Engineering from IIT Kharagpur in India.

Kevin Spurway Chief Marketing Officer

Kevin Spurway Chief Marketing Officer

Kevin Spurway leads Appian’s marketing organization. Prior to Appian, Kevin was SVP of Marketing at MicroStrategy, where he was responsible for product marketing and product management of the company’s analytics solutions. He has held similar senior marketing and corporate development positions at Altosoft, Appian, and PTC. Kevin holds a B.A. from Dartmouth and a JD from Harvard Law School.

Pavel Zamudio-Ramirez Senior Vice President, Customer Success

Pavel Zamudio-Ramirez Senior Vice President, Customer Success

Pavel leads Appian’s Customer Success organization. He and his team are devoted to ensuring that our customers obtain maximum value beyond the initial expectations of our platform. Pavel has 20+ years of experience in professional services with Salesforce and Monitor Group, where he focused on innovation, transformation and customer success initiatives. He was valedictorian of his graduating class and received the Gabino Barreda Medal for his studies in Chemical Engineering at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. He also holds two Master's degrees from MIT in Engineering and Management.

Dawn Mitchell Vice President, Human Resources

Dawn Mitchell Vice President, Human Resources

Dawn Mitchell oversees the Human Resources department, which is a strategic partner to the business in acquiring, developing and retaining talent while enhancing the Appian culture and talent brand. Prior to Appian, Dawn held leadership roles at Red Hat and Opower. Dawn holds a B.S. degree in Business Management from North Carolina State University. In 2018, she was recognized as a top HR leader in the DC Metro area by DCA Live.

David Metzger Vice President of Talent Management

David Metzger Vice President of Talent Management

David Metzger is responsible for improving business value through employee and leadership development, workforce planning, employee assessment, and competency development. Prior to Appian, David served as Director of Leadership Development for Canon USA, developing the corporate university and talent management processes. David has more than 20 years of talent management experience. David received his MBA from the Katz Graduate School of Business at the University of Pittsburgh.

Paul Maguire Senior Vice President of EMEA and APAC

Paul Maguire Senior Vice President of EMEA and APAC

Paul leads Appian's EMEA and APAC operations and has substantial experience growing enterprise software companies into market leaders. Prior to Appian, for the past 20 years Paul has served in Senior Management positions at Genesys, Pegasystems - where he helped achieve a dramatic 6-fold growth in 8 years - and Staffware (now Tibco). Paul is totally committed to helping organisations across EMEA and APAC unlock maximum benefit from their investment in Appian.

Board Of Directors

director
director
director
director
director
director
director

Mike Devine Director

Mike chairs the Audit Committee of our Board. He was an audit partner at Arthur Andersen and Deloitte. Mike led Andersen’s efforts in working with technology companies in the Washington, D.C. area. He has assisted many software and telecommunication companies in their transitions from start-up to IPO and beyond. After retiring from the public accounting business, Mike was CFO of Secure Software from 2004 through 2007. Since then, Mike has been helping technology companies improve their finance and accounting functions. Mike also served on the Board of Directors and audit committee at Martek Biosciences from 2008 until its acquisition by DSM in 2011.

Bobbie Kilberg President and CEO of the Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC)

Bobbie Kilberg is President and CEO of the Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), one of the largest technology business councils in the nation.  She brings extensive experience, having served in prominent positions with four former U.S. presidents. In the private sector, she held senior roles at Arnold & Porter, Mount Vernon College, and the Aspen Institute. A recipient of many awards and recognitions, Kilberg was inducted as a Laureate in the Washington Business Hall of Fame in 2013 and selected for Virginia Business magazine’s 2016 Most Influential Virginians. She was also named to Washingtonian magazine’s 100 Tech Titans of Washington and the Washington Business Journal’s Power 100 in 2015. She is a proud graduate of Yale Law School, Columbia University and Vassar College. In 2013, she was awarded an honorary associate degree in humane letters by the Northern Virginia Community College.   A seasoned board member, Kilberg currently sits on the board of directors of United Bank – Va, RG Group, Inc., the American Action Forum, and the NVTC Foundation.

Matt Calkins Founder and CEO

Matt founded Appian at age 26.  He won Dartmouth’s award for top economics graduate, class of ’94.  He is active in Virginia government and serves on the board of three prominent institutions: the Virginia Public Access Project (VPAP), the Sorensen Institute, and the Northern Virginia Technology Council PAC.  He is the author of three boardgames and winner of several game design awards.  Matt is frequently a top finisher at the World Boardgaming Championships.

Jack Biddle Director

Prior to co-founding NBVP in 1996, Jack was President and CEO of InterCAP, a venture-backed computer graphics software company. InterCAP was number 18 on the “Fast 50” list of the mid-Atlantic’s fastest growing companies and was acquired by Intergraph in 1995. From 1987 to 1990, Jack rose from Senior Associate to Partner at Vanguard Atlantic, Ltd., a merchant banking group focused on M&A advisory work and control investments in software companies. At VAL, he served as turnaround CEO of a system software company and then as COO of an application software company. Earlier in his career he was an IT Industry Generalist, focused on Telecommunications Technology at the Gartner Group, where he was also Executive Assistant to the CEO, Gideon Gartner. He began his career in 1983 in Austin, Texas at Business Development Partners, an early stage venture capital partnership. Jack holds a BA in Economics from the University of Virginia.

Jack currently serves on the Boards of WealthEngine, Vision Chain (Chairman), CorasWorks (Chairman), Triumfant, eMinor/ReverbNation, Starfish Retention Solutions, Shoeboxed, FiberZone Networks, Princeton Optronics and Appian Corporation.

PV Boccasam Director

PV’s experience encompasses being an entrepreneur, early stage venture capitalist, and an advisor to mid-market private-equity backed companies over the last two decades. He currently serves as an independent board director at Appian Corporation (NASDAQ: APPN) and as the CEO of WealthEngine.

PV started his career at Microsoft in 1990s. He co-founded Entevo in 1997, which was acquired by BindView/Symantec in 2001. PV then founded Approva in 2002 which was sold to Infor/Lawson in 2011. PV co-founded ClearStandards in 2007 that was acquired by SAP in 2009. PV has been a General Partner at Novak Biddle Venture Partners, a $600M early-stage technology fund, since 2009.

PV has successfully mentored entrepreneurs and invested in over twenty early-to-mid-stage startups. PV is Chairman and co-owner of CommuniKids since 2003. He serves on the University of Maryland's Computer, Mathematics, and Natural Science (CMNS) Board of Visitors and as well as the Dingman Center of Entrepreneurship. PV is the founder of Pratham (DC-Chapter), India’s largest NGO focused on education.

Robert C. Kramer General Manager

Bob Kramer is responsible for coordinating business and technical operations across the company. Bob is a graduate of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. He is a founder of Appian and a member of Appian’s board of directors.

Michael J. Mulligan Director

Michael J. Mulligan brings more than 20 years of executive operations insight and experience to the Appian board. Currently President of Sea Level Investment Corporation, he is the former Chairman and CEO of MapQuest, the world leader in online mapping and driving directions (now a subsidiary of AOL Time Warner). At MapQuest, Mulligan designed and executed the strategy that drove the company’s rapid growth to market leadership and a market value of more than $750 million. He successfully led the company through IPO and through its sale and integration into AOL. Prior to MapQuest, Mulligan was an executive with American Express, first in the Relationship Services group, where he oversaw the development of consequential new streams of profit through joint ventures, acquisitions, and business development, and later in the Travel Related Services group, where he developed and implemented the company’s Interactive Travel strategy. Mulligan has also held executive and leadership positions with Berlitz International, Trans National Group Services, and Bain and Company.